Advisory board


The PAREMPI Advisory Board members are representatives from industry, companies and international organisations.

The Advisory Board Members will bring views on scientific questions and on the specific features of different transport sectors and measurement technologies. The PAREMPI Advisory Board currently consists our of 9 members representing different orgnisations.

Rick Miake-Lye, Aerodyne

Dr. Richard C. MiakeLye is a Vice President, Principal Scientist and Director at Aerodyne Research, Inc. He leads both theoretical numerical modeling and experimental measurement projects to understand the environmental impact of airplanes. He was recognized for contributions to IPCC 2007 Nobel Peace Prize and to the USEPA 2007 Climate Protection Award. He has been Chair of SAE’s E-31 committee on aviation emissions and has served in many roles in support of CAEP and continues to serve with both groups.

United States

Anssi Arffman, Dekati

Dr. Anssi Arffman Is a Technology Manager and Scientist at Dekati Ltd working with R&D. He received his M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees at Tampere University of Technology on Aerosol Physics. His expertise includes several aspects of aerosol measurement techniques with focus on electrical measurement principles. In addition, he has expertise on emissions related primary- and secondary aerosol measurements as well as on heat- and mass transfer phenomena.


Pedro Oyola, CMMOLINA

Pedro Oyola is Director of Center Mario Molina for Strategic Studies in Environment and Energy, Santiago, Chile.

Dr. Oyola’s research activities focus on mega cities air quality and health effects, i.e., Santiago de Chile, where he was conducting Atmospheric Prevention and Decontamination Plans for PM 10 and PM 2,5 under the National Environmental Commission. He is active involved in the project Global and Urban Research in Meteorology and Environment under WMO supervision, where Santiago, Mexico City, São Paulo, Beijing, Moscow and another mega polis are participating.


Bryan Comer, International Council on Clean Transportation

Bryan Comer leads the marine program at the International Council on Clean Transportation. The marine program provides policymakers with the data and analysis they need to avoid, reduce, and eliminate pollution from the global shipping sector. Bryan is a co-author of the Fourth IMO Greenhouse Gas Study. His work highlights how environmental policies can drive the transition to zero-emission vessels. Bryan holds a Ph.D. in Environmental Science and Policy from the SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, as well as an M.S. and B.S. in Public Policy from the Rochester Institute of Technology.

United States

Ricardo Suarez Bertoa, Joint Research Center

Ricardo Suarez-Bertoa is a Scientific Policy Officer of the European Commission JRC since 2013 where leads the work on heavy-duty vehicle emissions of the Sustainable, Smart and Safe Mobility Unit. He holds a Ph.D. in chemical science by the University of Milano Bicocca, Italy. Before joinging the European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC), Ricardo worked in the field of atmospheric chemistry at the University of California, Irvine and at the Laboratoire Interuniversitaire des Systèmes Atmosphériques in Paris.


Jyrki Ristimäki, Royal Caribbean Cruises

Jyrki Ristimäki holds a PhD in aerosol physics and works as a Senior Superintendent on Machinery and Ttechnical Items at Royal Caribbean Group, Maritime Technology department in Turku, Finland. Works half time as a RCG Secondee at Maersk Mc-Kinney Moller Center for Zero Carbon Shipping. Work experience covers more than 25 years on different task related engine emissions ranging from performance expert at Wärtsilä to research scientist at Tampere University.


Juha Kortelainen, Wärtsilä

Juha has been working in Wärtsilä for 11 years within the field of engine emissions. His current title is Expert, emission measurement which in practice means emission measurement and expertise in Vaasa engine laboratories.


Jukka Nuottimäki, Neste

Jukka Nuottimäki works as R&D Manager at Neste’s Innovation unit. He holds a MSc from the Helsinki University of Technology and has some 14 years of R&D experience in various roles. His team is responsible for engine and vehicle testing activities and providing in-depth fuel chemistry expertise related to Neste’s product development. His own research expertise is related to exhaust emission formation, fuel properties and well-to-wheels emissions of vehicles.


Imad Khalek, Southwest Research Institute

Dr. Imad Khalek is an Institute Engineer at Southwest Research Institute (SwRI), Powertrain Engineering Division. He has been with SwRI for 25 years and manages SwRI Particle Science & Technology activities. He is the founder of SwRI Particle Laboratory that became the world first ISO 17025 particle calibration laboratory accredited by A2LA for four distinct particle number and size calibration processes. He is also the founder of SwRI Particle Sensor Performance and Durability (PSPD) Consortium that was launched in 2011. Additional focus includes brake, tire, and battery fire emissions and mitigations. He is an Associate Editor of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Journal of Engines. Dr. Khalek is Fellow of the SAE.

United States

Greg Smallwood, Aerometrics Incorporated

Dr. Greg Smallwood is Principal Investigator, Aerometrics Incorporated. He has contributed to over 240 refereed publications, primarily in measurement science of aerosols, combustion, and nanotechnology, and has been a keynote speaker at several international conferences. Dr. Smallwood is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the Combustion Institute, and has received several prestigious awards. His Ph.D. is from Cranfield University.


Scroll to Top